5-9 Stretch Skate

5-9 x 19 x 2.3 26.7
EPS Tech thruster
FCS2

 photo 376DD07B-CC66-4A11-BD29-76A456C40491_zpsggas7w3c.jpg

This board and me clicked so well together I was amazed it was basically an off the rack board.  It was still my lowest volume board to date, and even though I usually don’t agree with the volume-change-for-EPS. I’ve bumped my volume up slightly since this board but I had no problems with this volume at the 160-165 I weigh in as.

This board was a perfect all around board. It had a low rocker that would allow you to surf great even in small conditions, while not getting out of control until it got overhead. It was the kind of board I would throw in the car and be confident with as long as I knew there would be some kind of waves.

 photo B1BB0106-8C70-4133-9D6E-807C8230676B_zpskqw2ks3b.jpg

Tommy from Stretch recommended the Accelerators from FCS since the Stretch set was not out in FCS2 at this time. These fins were a match made in heaven for this board, and I’ve continued using them in my FCS2 boards since. The one odd thing was that this board liked the cheaper NeoGlass version pictured, while other boards like the Performance Core version better. I have no idea why this might be the case, but I’ll recommend the NeoGlass version for anyone since they are a really good fin at a really affordable price. Even though I’ve since switched to Futures, I’ve found the fins that work the best for me are the ones that are closest to FCS2 Accelerators.

If you’re looking for a good all-around HPSB, the Stretch Skate would be a great choice. Its fast, loose, and predictable; everything you want in a HPSB. Its a little flat and parallel for super hollow waves, and can get a little out of control when its big, but for something to throw in the car and go, its a great choice.

The new owner took it to Central America and he ripped on it too, and has since put quad boxes in since he prefers quads. I’m sure its still working great for him that way, but I thought it was perfect as a thruster.

It held up great too for how much I rode it in the year I owned it. These were the pics I took for the new owner before he bought it

One thought on “5-9 Stretch Skate

Leave a Reply

