Board Review- 8-2 GDaddy Hot Generation

GDaddy and I both are fascinated with the transitional period from 67-70 when boards were rapidly being redesigned and dropping feet in length.  Hibbers and Putnam had designed a board called the Hot Generation, which is based on the Australian V bottoms from late 1967.  This is the next progression from Nat Young’s Magic Sam and were around 8 feet in length.  The best way to describe them is a long hull, although they are much more forgiving than something like a Liddle.

Here they are in action when they were new.

These were nearly flat, with a convex bottom and a radical vee through the fin to the tail. The PHD versions are flat and bladey like a Liddle hull without much Vee in the back. These also have the widepoint back of center, which followed the example of Magic Sam. This was a throwback to the 50s pigs at the time and I find that it helps turning. The Lovelace vBowls also utilize the widepoint back design.

Since all the boards mentioned above were designed for speedier and hollower waves, GDaddy and I relaxed a few design elements.
1. 60/40 rails instead of 50/50. However, these are still pretty bladed. The PHD version is dime sized while mine are more nickel sized.
2. Relaxed vee. The original boards were bitchy unless they were in good waves because of all the vee. We just put a smaller amount in for control with the wide tail.

This was the first time GDaddy had made a board in this style and it came out f’in amazing. 8-2 x 22 x 3 constructed with Epoxy + 3.2oz Volan over U.S. Blanks Green

GDaddy did 3 layers on the deck plus 2 layer deckpatch laid at opposing 30* bias, and 2 layers over the bottom. With this many layers of volan the board came out with a coke bottle tint. The finished weight is not light: ~14#.

decklam_zpsb1385b45

Picture008_zpsda108f4f

Picture010_zps05112df6

The original guys were using fins that were 12″ and bigger but I went with a 10.5″ Larry Allison wide base flex fin
(like this one but red, can’t find a current pic of my own)

2012-07-10_18-39-03_506

This board performs exactly like I wanted it to, which is my kooky version of the guys in the video at the top of the post. Walk to the nose for short 5s? Check. Stand on the tail and crank it? Check. Trim it for hull light speed? Check. GDaddy did such an amazing job on it and it is so fun. I even got my hands on a Jim Phillips-shaped Velzy and got rid of that since I like this board so much better. It definitely doesn’t deal well with closing out beachbreak, but on anything lined up that you’d want to ride a trim-type board on it rules. I keep using it as my small wave board but I need to get it out in some sizable, lined up stuff so I can really feel like I’m an Aussie in 1967. I love this thing.

5 thoughts on “Board Review- 8-2 GDaddy Hot Generation

  1. Hey guys, my name is Ross and I’m the new owner of this incredible surfboard. Scored it off craigslist and know nothing about it (other than the fact that it loves getting pitted at Rincon). I’d love to get the whole story.

    • Hey Ross, I’m the one who sold it to you, your buddy picked it up at my house. Everything about the board is pretty much written out in this blog post. It was just an idea between George and I that came out really well.

      Now you’re making me wish I would have kept it, but I am in such a clear thruster phase right now that it just wasn’t being ridden. You’re giving it a much better time at the points up there than in my garage in HB.

      That reminds me, I need to start updating this blog again with my new home and the quivers of boards I’ve gone through since.

      -Andrew

Leave a Reply

