Dannowar Bonzer 3- Board Review

This is rapidly becoming my favorite board ever.  It is 100% my daily driver, which is the most important board in a quver.  I’m completely sold on the Bonzer movement now and, with the exception of my 8-2 Hot Generation and Hanel Keel, I will be building a quiver of Bonzers to go from grovel to as big as I feel comfortable with.   I’m going to buy a couple from the Campbells, but I’ll definitely be getting Danny Martinez to build me my DDs

bonzer1 bonzer2 bonzer3

Here’s what Danny originally had to say about this board: “had a blank sitting around in the garage for a while so i knocked out a replica of my favorite board. beefier rails than i usually ride and one of the runners is 2 degrees off (could make it magic?).

5’10 20 2.25 (in the deep channel, the volume is probably that of a 2 3/8 or 2.5)

i was gonna keep it but i figured id give someone a smoking deal and make a personal one a little thinner.”

Boy am I glad I jumped on that offer, here are my initial impressions written after about a week of sessions (funny to think I wrote this in the middle of October and that’s the last time we had consistent waves until recently)

This board is sick.

Taking Dannowar’s advice I got a 6″ Bonzer fin and placed it so just a smidge of the leading edge was overlapping with the runners.

First wave I took off right in the pocket and felt that bonzer feeling of levitation, I then went completely vert and did a huge top turn, feeling like I was surfing way better than I normally do.

The rest of the session was good wave after good wave on this board. Rights and lefts on both mush and bowly pockety things. I really wish I would have had the fin for my AM session yesterday at this spot because it was a barrel fest then.

The board is PU/PE but feels super light. D thought the rails were a little full for him but they are perfect for me. It was a flat deck which I really like too.

I really can’t get over the feeling of this 3 fin bonzer setup on this board. It feels loose and floaty almost like a keel when going down the line but when you dig into turn it responds like a thruster. Its almost like you get the advantages of a thruster (turns) without the disadvantages (anchor-drag feeling). I know this has a lot more to do with the bottom than just the fins though

Dannowar did an awesome job on this board. It will be my fall/winter DD

Today I had the best session I’ve had in 6 months, a great topper to the past two days which were awesome as well.  It is not just because the waves are good, it is because of this board.  I got empty HH peaks with Silentbutdeadly today and am still stoked 10 hours later.  Bonzer 5th gear was present all day long.

Yew!

4 thoughts on “Dannowar Bonzer 3- Board Review

Leave a comment